Ramble 38: Looking for afghan

I am an Indian girl. But even since I turned 14 I have been obsessed with Afghani books. Whenever I read about their life I feel like a nestled Afghani inside of me springs around waiting to break through those enclosed shards of Indianness.

It all started on June 28th, 2013. I had gone to Gangtok with my family friends and if you have ever been to Gangtok you would know it is one of those places where you laze about, stretch and relax in a beautiful hotel overlooking scenic beauty. It is wonderful if you are not restless. Ever the restless girl I am, a book called ‘The Kite Runner’ intrigued me. It was just innocuously lying there on the bed unread. I picked it up and little did I know that was the beginning of my obsession with Afghani books.

Currently, I have read four or five Afghani books, each moving me in their own way. My favorite has been ‘A thousand splendid suns’ by Khaled Hosseni as it embarks on a journey to unravel the condition of women in Afghanistan. Now whenever I spot a book on Afghanis I unknowingly just pick it up and devour it. Once I read an article which said that Afghani children have been really moving forward in the entertainment sector. I still have that saved in one of my Afghani books. Such is the connection I feel with Afghanis though I have never met or seen any of them. Such emotions make me wonder if we are partially global citizens wrapped in a similar cloth. Or

is it just wistful thinking?

Life in Afghanistan
Beauty untold

Would love to read your comments, thoughts and rambles! Please feel free to comment below. I promise I will reply.

11 thoughts on “Ramble 38: Looking for afghan

  1. Wow that’s amazing ! I’ve been obsessed with Afghanistan for a couple of years now !! I’m Kashmiri myself, there’s a chance I may be from Afghan heritage, but I’m not 100% sure. I’ve never met an Afghan either ! I don’t like the Kite Runner, but I adore 1000 splendid suns !! I wish they’d make a movie !
    Whenever I think of Afghanistan, I think of gorgeous mountains, a rich culture, beautiful Mosques – Afghanistan has its own blue Mosque. It’s amazing !! And I love the fact that Afghans are from such different heritages, many are from Chinese heritage. I’d love to go there someday.
    My new blog is mainly travel and I might do a piece on Afghanistan one day !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my god!!! what are the odds right? I am Indian though. Its amazing how small the world is. I have never met anybody who loves and is obsessed with Afghanistan. I would love to read about your piece on Afghanistan. You know whenever people think of Afghanistan they think about war and terrorism, I can only think about the rich culture and heritage! Thank you so much for this lovely lovely comment. You made my day 🙂 🙂 ❤ ❤ Btw 1000 splendid suns is an AMAZING book. I love it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know !!! I’m so glad I came across you !! This is brilliant !!! That’s exactly what I was going to say ! Most people think of wars, or the drugs or the Taliban, but I don’t !! And neither do you ! We think of the architecture, the beautiful nature and the fascinating people !

        Aww, I’m glad I made your day !

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You would? I am not trying to have a debate here considering how biased my opinion is really but you do realize the consequences of wanting to be independent right? And btw can you please list out how you feel about being a part of India if that is not too cliched a question since I have always wanted to know the other side of the story.

        Like

      3. Yes, I’d much rather be independent. I’m really not fond of being split between India, China and Pakistan. I don’t think much of any of them really, I feel they’re all land hungry and oppressors.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

